With Honors

Waste industry professionals were honored by the Environmental Industry Associations at WasteExpo 2011 in Dallas.

More than two dozen men and women in the solid waste industry were recently honored for their service to the field at a special awards ceremony, sponsored by the Environmental Industry Associations (EIA) and its two sub-associations, the National Solid Wastes Management Association (NSWMA) and the Waste Equipment Technology Association (WASTEC). The breakfast ceremony was held in Dallas during WasteExpo 2011, North America’s largest solid waste and recycling tradeshow.

“We are honored to recognize these 27 individuals,” said EIA and NSWMA President and CEO Bruce J. Parker at the ceremony. “The careers of these committed professionals are filled with outstanding achievements. Their noteworthy service to their companies and America’s solid waste industry has helped our industry better serve its customers, be more safety conscious and be more environmentally innovative.”

First honored were the 2011 Drivers of the Year. For more on these honorees, see last month’s EIA column.

EIA Hall of Fame

Charlie Appleby, chairman and CEO of Advanced Disposal Services and chairman of EIA, continued by saluting the 2011 inductees into the EIA Hall of Fame. “Through the Hall of Fame, we show respect and admiration for leaders who have been actively engaged in the waste industry and whose creative ideas, innovative concepts and contributions have made a significant difference to our industry.” The 2011 inductees were:

  • Victor “Skip” Berg, Sonrai Systems (Annandale, N.J.).
  • Peggy Gaston, Waste Management Inc. (Houston).
  • Ben Harvey, E.L. Harvey & Sons Inc. (Westborough, Mass.).
  • John Jennings, Waste Pro USA (Longwood, Fla.).
  • Jim O’Connor, Republic Services Inc. (Phoenix), retired.
  • Robert Pioch, Anchor Machine & Tool (Jackson, Mich.), posthumously.

Don Williamson, president of West Central Sanitation and chairman of NSWMA, then introduced the NSWMA award recipients. “The NSWMA awards recognize individuals who have shown a continuing, high-level of commitment to furthering the goals of the association through chapters, councils, committees or working groups.”

Those honored by NSWMA in 2011 were:

NSWMA Distinguished Service Award

  • Paul Smith, Recology (San Francisco).
  • Amy Van Kolken Banister, Waste Management Inc. (Houston).

NSWMA Member of the Year

  • Phil Carter, Waste Industries USA (Raleigh, N.C.).

NSWMA Special Governor’s Awards

  • Ralph Diaz, Corpus Christi Disposal Service (Corpus Christi, Texas), retired.
  • Lisa Disbrow, Waste Management Inc. (Illinois and Indiana).
  • Aaron Gilman, SCS Field Services (Reston, Va.).
  • Tim O’Donnell, Republic Services Inc. (York, Pa.).
  • Jack Perko, Republic Services Inc. (Indianapolis).

“The WASTEC awards are a unique opportunity to recognize hard-working individuals who have given extraordinary service to the mission and goals of their companies, WASTEC and the products and equipment produced for the waste industry,” said Bill Wilkerson, vice president of sales and marketing at the Environmental Solutions Group and chairman of WASTEC, while introducing the final group of honorees. Janice Bradley, WASTEC’s executive vice president, added, “We are fortunate to be part of an industry with such a dynamic and praiseworthy workforce. We salute all of the award recipients.”

2011 WASTEC honorees included:

WASTEC Distinguished Service Award

  • Mike Rockefeller, Bond Beebe Accountants & Advisors (Bethesda, Md.).

WASTEC Employees of the Year

  • Production - Juan Nodal, CP Manufacturing (National City, Calif.).
  • Sales and Marketing - Karen Seevers, E-Z Pack Manufacturing (Cynthiana, Ky.).
  • Engineering - Jim Weller, CP Manufacturing (National City, Calif.).

WASTEC Member of the Year

  • Margie Campbell, New Waste Concepts (Perrysburg, Ohio).

For more information about EIA, NSWMA, WASTEC and their award programs, visit environmentalistseveryday.org/awards.

Thomas Metzger is director of communications and public affairs for the National Solid Wastes Management Association. Reach him at (202) 364-3751.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.