WASTE EXPO: It's A Wrap!

ONCE AGAIN, WASTE EXPO exceeded expectations, attracting 11,700 participants and 100 new exhibitors to the 2002 event. Held in Las Vegas on May 21-23, the show featured standing room only educational sessions; a special session on the cleanup following the September 11th terrorist attacks; and three new exhibitor pavilions, including Truck Components and Supplies, sponsored by Primedia Business Magazines and Media's Fleet Owner magazine.

According to Show Director Rita Ugianskis-Fishman, exhibitors were pleased with the show's quality. In fact, sales for next year's WasteExpo to be held in New Orleans June 3-5, 2003, already are up.


More than 500 people attended the Inspirational and Awards Breakfast, where the Environmental Industry Associations (EIA) and its sub-associations, the National Solid Wastes Management Association (NSWMA) and Waste Equipment Technology Association (WASTEC) honored contributors to the industry. This year's winners are listed below. See www.nswma.org for more information.

NSWMA Awards:

  • Distinguished Service Awards: Jim Grogan, G&G Sanitation Systems; Robert J. Hyres, Waste Pro; Jeffery L. Johnson, Going Garbage & Recycling; and Tom McCaughey, Allied Waste Industries.

  • Special Governor's Awards: Don Cassano, Waste Management; Randall Russell, Kenvirons; Mark Stoltman, Randy's Sanitation; and George Walter, Walter's Recycling & Refuse Services.

  • Member of the Year: Leonard E. Joyce Jr., Joyce Engineering.

WASTEC Awards:

  • Employees of the Year: Engineering - James Davis, J.V. Manufacturing; Production - Brett Peters, Leach Co.; and Sales - Fred Atkinson, Heil Environmental Industries.

  • Distinguished Service: Denny Pool, SP Industries.

  • Member of the Year: Michael L. Knaub, Schaefer Systems Int'l.

EIA Awards:

  • Drivers of the Year: Large Residential - Anthony Ceasar, BFI Waste Services of Louisiana; Large Commercial - Charles Wright, Waste Management of Dade County; Large Industrial - Douglas Slinkman, National Waste Services; Public Sector - Enrique Rojas, City of San Diego; Small Residential - Brian Fortune, BFI Elyria; Small Commercial - Ken Cousino, BFI; and Small Industrial - Johnny Sledge, BFI Waste Systems.

  • Special Trustee: Carl Hornberger, Republic Services.

  • Hall of Fame: Robert G. Banfield, Banfield & Associates; William J. Davidson, Able Recycling; Edward A. Funari; Marathon Equipment Co.; and Harris Hudson, Republic Services.