Award Winners

The Environmental Industry Associations, Washington, D.C., which includes the National Solid Wastes Management Association (NSWMA) and the Waste Equipment Technology Association (WASTEC), presented several awards at the Inspirational and Awards Breakfast held Tuesday, May 16 at WasteExpo 2000.

NSWMA Distinguished Service Jane Rubenstein, Biosystems, Farmingdale, N.Y.

Don Williamson, West Central Sanitation, Wilmar, Minn.

NSWMA Special Governors Doug Harvey, E.L. Harvey & Sons, Westboro, Mass.

NSWMA Member of the Year Bob Gregory, Texas Disposal Systems, Austin, Texas

WASTEC Distinguished Service Steve Wienkes, Leach Co., Oshkosh, Wis.

WASTEC Member of the Year Ted Flood, Waste Technology Corp., Jacksonville, Fla.

WASTEC Employees of the Year (categories of production, engineering and sales) Production: Richard J. Neitzel, Leach Co.

Engineering: James C. White, Leach Co.

Sales: Wesley Harmon, Marathon Co., Chattanooga, Tenn.

EIA Special Trustee Norm Aardema, Chemical Disposal Services Inc.

EIA Hall of Fame Roger Ramsey, John Barry, Marc Stragier, and William and Bernard Rumpke

Refuse truck drivers are the industry's front line. Day in and day out, these men and women must navigate narrow, rural and congested roads in all weather conditions, while representing their company and providing good customer service to the public. The 15th year of its Drivers of the Year program, the Environmental Industry Associations honors the cream of the crop - drivers with near-perfect records for safety and customer service. The winners received a check for $500 and a plaque honoring their accomplishments. They are:

Driver of the Year from the Public Sector Ernest E. Dennis, City of Iowa City, Iowa

Driver of the Year in the Small Company, Commercial Category Robert L. Schneider, Lloyd Brothers Trucking Co., Wausau, Wis.

Driver of the Year in the Small Company, Industrial Category Charles A. Elsaesser, Rumpke Transportation, Cincinnati

Driver of the Year in the Large Company, Residential Category Johnnie Lee Robinson, Rumpke Transportation

Driver of the Year in the Large Company, Commercial Category Edward Lee Wright, Browning-Ferris Industries, Peachland, N.C.

Driver of the Year in the Large Company, Industrial Category Dennis Potter, Browning-Ferris Industries Idaho, Boise, Idaho.