Waste360 is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Senate Confirms McCarthy as Next EPA Administrator

Article-Senate Confirms McCarthy as Next EPA Administrator

The U.S. Senate has confirmed Gina McCarthy as the next administrator of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) by a 59-40 vote.

The vote followed a 69-31 vote for closure on filibusters objecting to her nomination. The final vote fell primarily along party lines, with Democrats supporting the nomination and Republicans objecting.

In March President Barack Obama nominated McCarthy, assistant administrator of the EPA's Office of Air and Radiation. She will replace Lisa Jackson, who announced in late December that she would step down from the position.

Michael Brune, executive director of the San Francisco-based Sierra Club, said in a statement following the confirmation vote, “After dedicating her 25-year career to protecting our air and water, Gina McCarthy has a proven record of protecting American families and getting things done.  It’s no wonder she received bipartisan support from the Senate today.  We look forward to working with her continue the EPA’s vital work of protecting American families and holding polluters accountable.

With her nomination in March President Obama called McCarthy a “straight shooter,” at a press conference and said, “I’m sure she will do an outstanding job at the EPA.”

Sharon Kneiss, president and CEO of Washington-based Environmental Industry Associations (EIA), said in a statement at the time of the nomination, “We look forward to partnering with government when appropriate to continue our efforts to increase recovery of recycled and compostable materials, increase the amount of sustainable energy that we produce, and make our trucks more energy efficient.”



Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.