Waste360 is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Need to Know

ISRI Elects Four New National Officers

The four new national officers will lead the association and industry over the next two years.

During its 2018 convention and exposition, the Institute of Scrap Recycling Industries (ISRI) elected four new national officers who will lead the association and industry over the next two years. In addition, the ISRI Board of Directors elected four directors-at-large and one associate director. Heading up the new team of leaders is Chair Brian Shine of Manitoba Corp.

The three other national officers are Chair-Elect Gary Champlin of Champlin Tire Recycling, Vice Chair Brian Henesey of Rocky Mountain Recycling and Secretary/Treasurer Colin Kelly of Schnitzer Steel Industries. Three directors-at-large were elected to the position for a first term: Dan Becker of Becker Iron & Metal, Edward Kangeter IV of CASS Inc. and Joel Litman of Texas Recycling. Stephen Moss of Stanton A. Moss Inc. was elected to a second term as a director-at-large, and Andreas Ernst of Sennebogen was elected as associate director.

“ISRI congratulates and welcomes a new slate of leaders to its board of directors,” said Robin Wiener, president of ISRI, in a statement. “As the recycling industry continues to evolve and adapt to changing global dynamics, this leadership team is prepared to lead the way. They are dedicated to providing the value and service ISRI members have come to know for the past several decades and committed to continuous improvement across the association to strengthen both the organization and industry. ISRI members are in good hands with this team.”

More about the newly elected national officers:

Brian Shine is a fourth-generation nonferrous metals recycler and president of Manitoba Corporation, which operates two plants—Lancaster (Buffalo), N.Y., and St. Louis—with a primary focus on processing high-grade copper scrap. Shine has held many leadership positions within ISRI, including membership committee chairman, audit committee chairman and member of the board of directors. In addition, he served as president of the ISRI Empire State Chapter from 2004-2006.

Gary Champlin is third generation in the family tire business started by his grandfather in 1950. For the last 22 years, he has been general manager of Champlin Tire Recycling, Inc. Gary and his wife Debra have six children and eight grandchildren. Champlin Tire Recycling is one of the top ten largest tire processors in the United States. Along with serving in many capacities within ISRI, he has also been a board member of Mid-America Tire Dealers (president in 2010-2011), United Tire Recyclers (president since 2008), Kansas Organization of Recyclers and the Kansas Landfill Association.

Brian Henesey is vice president and general manager of Rocky Mountain Recycling, Inc., (RMR). He grew up in Duquesne, which is outside of Pittsburgh. At the early age of 16, he worked as a summer employee at a local scrap company called Vac-Air Alloys. Throughout high school and college, Henesey continued to work as a summer employee. After graduation, Brian was hired to a full-time position as a management trainee. Eventually, he was assigned the role of plant operations manager of a facility in Houston in 1995. In 1998, he accepted a position as a commercial buyer with RMR and moved to Colorado.

Colin Kelly graduated with a bachelor’s degree in business administration in 1984 from Suffolk University in Boston. During college, he began a career in retailing with the Purity Supreme Company, and in 1986, he purchased his first restaurant. In the following years, he added multiple locations and full line catering. He displayed an interest in community service early on and was elected to the Everett Common Council in 1989, where he served for 11 years. Since then, he has contributed much of his time to community service and charitable organizations. In 2006, he joined Schnitzer Steel Industries as the government relations manager for the Northeast area and today is the corporate director of public affairs.

The following new chapter presidents also began two-year terms on the board of directors:

David Bestwick, Empire Chapter
Dominion Nickel Alloys

Brady Bird, Mid-America Chapter
SIC Recycling

Art Dodge, Scrap Tire Processors Chapter
Ecore International

Marvin Finkelstein, Southeast Chapter
Kripke Enterprises

Leonard Formato, New York Chapter
Empire Metal Trading

Andrew Lincoln, Pittsburgh Chapter
Lincoln Recycling

Chad Olgin, Rocky Mountain Chapter
Olgin Efune Recycling Company

Brian Plonski, Wisconsin Chapter
Northern Metal Recycling – EMR

Neil Samahon, Indiana Chapter
Metro Recycling

Jerry Sjogren, New England Chapter
EL Harvey & Sons

Timothy Wilson, Northern Ohio Chapter
Triple M Metal

Leonard Zeid, Paper Stock Industries Chapter
Midland Davis Corp.

New commodity division directors for the 2018-2020 term:

Electronics Division
Crag Boswell, HOBI International
Jim Levine, Regency Technologies

Ferrous Division
Christopher Bedell, The David J Joseph Co.
Brian Halloran, CMC Recycling

Nonferrous Division
Kevin Lamar, Dynamic Metal Services
Andy Wahl, TAV Holdings

Paper Division
Myles Cohen, Pratt Industries
Don Majka, Waste Management

Plastics Division
Scott Saunders, KW Plastics Recycling

Tire & Rubber
Kip Vincent, Colt Inc.

One director-at-large position remains open following Kelly’s election to secretary/treasurer. An election will be held during ISRI’s Summer Board of Directors Meetings, held July 10-13 in Washington, D.C.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.