Need to Know

NWRA Announces 2018 Drivers of the Year, Operator of the Year Winners

The 10 winners will be recognized at WasteExpo 2018.

The National Waste & Recycling Association (NWRA) has announced its 2018 Drivers of the Year and Operator of the Year winners, recognizing drivers and operators who prioritize safety above all else.

“Safety is a core value at NWRA and for our members. Our members and their employees are dedicated to keeping our communities clean and safe on a daily basis. Therefore, it is important that we recognize the drivers and operators who make safety a priority. I congratulate them on their achievement,” said Darrell Smith, president and CEO of NWRA, in a statement.

The Operator of the Year award is for employees working in post-collection and operating heavy equipment safely at a materials recovery facility (MRF), landfill or transfer station.

The award winners will be recognized officially at WasteExpo 2018. The winners are listed below:

The 2018 Driver of the Year Awardees:

Large Commercial — Mike Lawrence, Waste Connections, Inc.

Large Industrial — Toribio Gonzalez, Republic Services, Inc.

Large Residential — Charles Thorpe, Republic Services, Inc.

Regional Commercial — Mark Tumulty, Rumpke Waste & Recycling

Regional Industrial — Calvin Smith, WCA Waste Corporation

Regional Residential — Dean Koch, Recology

Medium — Joseph Lallier, All Waste, Inc.

Small — Bryan Rasmussen, Interwest Paper Pro Recycling Group

Public Sector — Roger Bronner, City of San Diego

The 2018 Operator of the Year Awardee:

Scott Russell, E.L. Harvey & Sons

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.