Manufacturers addressed in Maines new e-waste recycling law

On Jan. 18, Maine became the first state in the nation to require television and computer manufacturers to pay for the recycling and disposal of their discarded products. According to The Associated Press, jurisdictions in the state previously charged consumers between $15 and $20 to dispose of e-waste; however, the new law charges consumers only $2 to drop of their equipment. While supporters of the law want to protect the environment from the disposal of electronic equipment, they hope the law will encourage manufacturers to use less harmful materials and create products that are more easily recyclable.