The Heap
"Tapped" In

"Tapped" In

tapped.jpgOne of the simplest ways to reduce the amount of material entering the waste stream is to eschew single-serving plastic water bottles in favor of reusable, refillable bottles or canteens. Even if those bottles are ultimately recycled, they still consume a great deal of energy in manufacturing, transport, and remanufacturing. Yet water in disposable bottles is more popular than ever. Why?

“Tapped,” a documentary by director Stephanie Soechtig, examines the negative effects of bottled water. Soechtig and her crew are in the midst of a cross-country tour to promote the film and educate the public about alternatives to disposable bottles. At each stop, they are swapping plastic bottles for reusable Kleen Kanteens. Traveling in a translucent recycling truck, the filmmakers started in Los Angeles and are collecting bottles over the course of the tour so that when they reach New York, they will have more than 15,000 plastic water bottles.

For more information about “Tapped” or upcoming screenings, visit Remaining stops on the tour:

Friday, April 9 - Houston

Saturday, April 10 - New Orleans

Tuesday, April 13 - Atlanta

Wednesday, April 14 - Nashville, TN

Thursday, April 15 - Bloomington, IN

Friday, April 16 - Chicago, IL

Saturday, April 17 - Goshen, IN

Monday, April 19 - Washington, DC

Wednesday, April 21 - New York

Thursday, April 22 - New York

Friday, April 23 - Greenwich, CT